Triple A

Standard

I heard something this morning and it stuck.  The pastor of the church I attended today was talking about Triple A relationships.  He used this in somewhat of a different context, but it did make me think about the relationships in my life and if they were Triple A?  The Triple A is Authentic, Affirming and Available.

I have a lot of acquaintances, a handful of great friends and one or two best friends.  But this is an interesting question to pose, when thinking about the relationships in your life.  And at certain passes in your life, do you evaluate these relationships?  I always think people will be in my life forever.  I hate things to end.  I hate things to change.  But you know what?  They do.  And every time they do, I am extremely disappointed.  I try to enter every relationship by being completely authentic, affirming my friends that they are the best and being available-emotionally, mentally, and physically available to make the most of these relationships.

I just wish everyone went into friendships, partnerships, and relationships with this in mind.  But I’m not that naive to know, that some people aren’t authentic, will never affirm you and will never make themselves available.  Such is life, I guess.  But from now on, I will start to have much more of a keen eye for authenticity, but will still carry the belief that people are inherently good.

Honesty and transparency make you vulnerable. Be honest and transparent anyway.” – Mother Theresa

2 responses »

  1. I found this from twitter. I can relate so much to what you have written. I’m 44 and have been spoiled in my life. Not too many endings have happened. Then, suddenly a tidal wave hits. My father is dieing, my husband(we’ve been married only 1 1/2 years)m loses his job, I could go on/on. But, I do try to believe that people are inherently good. However, there’s a song/can’t think of who sings it…but a line is “there are no happy endings but the happy moments in between are what make it okay” So, I try to focus on the minutes of my life/seek joy out of them.

    I think this is the longest comment I’ve left on anyone’s blog. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

