Dodgeball with a Douchebag…

Standard

Ok, while I’m ranting this week…let me continue with one more topic, then I will return to Jackson’s funny antics…

I, among hundreds of thousands of women, tuned into the final episode of the Bachelor last night.  I didn’t watch the whole series…but I thought I’d tune into the final episode…kinda like March Madness, it’s a long season people, give me the highlights!

Let me just start by saying, I think the whole process is stupid and rather degrading and humiliating to women.  Yes, yes, I know they have the Bachlorette too…equally humiliating and degrading if you ask me.  Why in God’s name would you sign up to be on this show???  So, the premise, as you know, is to be one of 25 women that will vie for one man’s attention, love and ultimately, his hand in marriage.

It reminds me of being back in junior high, ok, I don’t know about you, but I was pretty awkward and not remotely attractive.  We would stand in the gym, in our God awful gym clothes, yes, my school chose a one-piece zip up number, red polyester shorts with a red and white striped top…did I mention it was one piece?  Yeah, my ass looked fantastic! Anyway…we would line up to get “chosen” to play dodgeball or whatever the stupid game was for the hour and inevitably there would be that one person left standing…ok fine, I’ll take em.  YUCK people!  This has done nothing for our self esteem over the years.  Yet, here we are again, with a national TV show that makes women stand in a line to “get picked” to hang out with this douchebag!  Ok, he may be an alright guy, whatever, I don’t know him.

If you watched last night, he also subjected his 3 yr old son to the “choosing” process!  In a nutshell, he says, hey honey, I chose Melissa, she is great and she’ll swim with her dress on and we’ll be one big happy family, love her Ty, make her your new Mommy and then like a fly in a bug zapper, this Jason character says…uh, shit, I’m a douchebag and I don’t “feel it” gonna break up with her and pick up my plan B girl…who, by the way, is more than happy to go, ok, sweet, I’ll hang out with you, even though you humiliated me on National TV and you didn’t “choose” me! That’s a huge WTF?  But the bigger WTF, is now, he says, hey Ty, wet Melissa didn’t exactly work out….but now you should love Molly, she’s going to be your new Mommy!  Jesus, this kid is 3-what do you think is going through his head????  AND where is his birth mother and WHY doesn’t she object to him being on National TV to be used “as the cute puppy lure”, I know I would.

So all I’m saying is, I’m fairly “new” to this dating in the Millenium thing, maybe I don’t get it, clearly, I don’t get it.   I will never join a dating site, because all that equates to is standing in a cyber line, saying pick me, pick me!  I don’t want the rose or the douchebag, I especially don’t want to be humiliated…I can do that all by myself-remember, I did wear a one-piece polyester gym outfit.

Keep your rose, keep your douchebag, I think I’ll try it the old-fashion way of actually meeting someone face to face without a load of sorority sisters on my date.  I know…total troglodyte!

Leave a Reply

